Kipchoge to face Lewandowski and Verstappen for Laureus Award


NAIROBI, Kenya, February 2 – The world’s greatest marathoner of all time, Eliud Kipchoge, will battle it out for the Laureus award for World Sportsman of the Year with global superstars including Bayern Munich scoring machine Robert Lewandowski.

Others on the six-man shortlist are 2021 Formula 1 world champion Max Verstappen, tennis star Novak Djokovic, American footballer Tom Brady and swimmer Caeleb Dressel.

It’s the third time Kipchoge has been nominated after making the shortlist in 2019 as well as 2020 and hopes to finally grab the prestigious global gong.

In 2021, Kipchoge became the third man in history to win a consecutive Olympic men’s marathon after running a breakthrough race at the Tokyo 2020 Games.

In the corresponding women’s award, US Open champion Emma Raducanu is nominated alongside Australian Open champion Ashleigh, track and field stars Allyson Felix and Elaine Thompson-Herah as well as swimmers Katie Ledecky and Emma McKeon.

Winners will be announced at a virtual awards show in April.

Full list of nominees

Sportsman of the year

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Tom Brady (USA) American Football

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis

Caeleb Dressel (USA)

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) Athletics

Robert Lewandowski (Poland) Football

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Motor racing

Sportswoman of the year award

Ashleigh Barty (Australia) Tennis

Allyson Felix (USA) Athletics

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Katie Ledecky (USA) Swimming

Emma McKeon (Australia) Swimming

Alexia Putellas (Spain) Football

Elaine Thompson-Herah (Jamaica) Athletics

team of the year

Argentina men’s national football team

Barcelona women’s football team (Spain)

Italy men’s football team

Milwaukee Bucks (USA) Basketball

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Breakthrough of the year

Neeraj Chopra (India) Athletics

Daniil Medvedev (Russia) Tennis

Pedri (Spain) Soccer

Emma Raducanu (United Kingdom) Tennis

Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela) Athletics

Ariarne Titmus (Australia) Swimming

Return of the year

Simone Biles (USA) Gymnastics

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Sky Brown (UK) Skateboard

Mark Cavendish (UK) Cycling

Tom Daley (UK) Diving

Marc Márquez (Spain) Motorcycling

Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) Cycling

Athlete of the year with a disability

Diede De Groot (Netherlands) Wheelchair Tennis

Marcel Hug (Switzerland) Wheelchair Athletics

Shingo Kunieda (Japan) Wheelchair Tennis

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Jetze Plat (Netherlands) Para-cycling / Paratriathlon

Susana Rodríguez (Spain) Paratriathlon

Sarah Storey (United Kingdom) Para-cycling

Global Action Sportsman of the Year

Italo Ferreira (Brazil) Surfing

Alberto Ginés (Spain) Climbing

Yuto Horigome (Japan) Skateboard

Carissa Moore (USA) Surfing

Momiji Nishiya (Japan) Skateboard

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Bethany Shriever (UK) BMX

Sport for Good Award

Ich da rauf! (Germany) Climbing

Jucà Pe Cagnà (Italy) Multisports

Kick 4 Life (Lesotho) Soccer

Lost Boyz Inc. (USA) Baseball

Monkey Magic (Japan) Climbing

Advertising. Scroll to continue reading.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.